top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEllen Fox

7 Tips for Solo Traveling



1. Wear earphones!

Not only does this make you look like a local, but it also helps you blend in and prevents cat calling. You’re less likely to be bothered because you look occupied. This worked wonders for me on the train in NYC, and sometimes the music wasn’t even playing because I needed to focus on my train stop. I originally started doing it in Costa Rica on my walks to school. Catcalling was basically eliminated on the way to school, after wearing earphones. I looked like I was on my normal commute, and no one bothered me once. Best trick in the books!




 

2. Use reusable bags!

One of the best ways to look like a local is to carry a reusable grocery bag. Whether it’s from Trader Joe’s, or the local bodega. This is another great way to blend in, and people will assume you live there. Why would a tourist be carrying around a grocery bag? It’ll just look like your on your way to Trader Joe’s. (Hopefully you are because I love that place!)


 

3. Bring a portable charger!

Chances are, you’ll be using some sort of phone navigation. You’ll also be taking pictures. Basically, your battery life is hanging on for dear life. You’ll thank yourself a million times for remembering a portable charger! Mine has saved me more than I can count! Unfortunately, portable chargers also need charging, so I recommend you also bring your charging cube, just in case. This gives you the option of charging your phone in a Starbucks, if the portable charger dies. (Sadly, this has happened to me.) Luckily, it’s an opportunity to plan your next moves, drink some water, and recharge.



4. Avoid Eye Contact!

This helped me HUGELY in Central America, where I stuck out like a sore thumb. But it also helped a lot in New York (and really every solo trip I’ve taken.) This might seem obvious, but it’s super important. When you’re in an unfamiliar city, the last thing you want is accidentally locking eyes with someone. I’m not saying other people are enemies! But some people can take eye contact as an invitation for unwanted conversation. You’re more likely to be approached, scammed, ect. Just blend in, and keep your eyes to yourself.


 

5. Create places 'lists' on Google maps!

Before heading out on my own, I like to have a general plan of where I want to go each day. This involves research, but it’s worth it. And it doesn’t mean you can’t be spontaneous! Having a plan gives you a purpose and makes you more confident! If you find something better along the way, that’s great! Otherwise, you’ll be glad to have a specific goal in mind.


1. Open Google maps and click on the three lines in the top left corner.

2. From there, click on "Your places," and the "Saved."

3. Next, you can start creating your own lists by clicking on the plus sign at the bottom right corner.


I add locations on Google maps and put them in a labeled folder. My folder builds up with lots of places after researching blogs and Pinterest. Then, I automatically have a running list of places I want to go. I usually have my list made before my trip, and I pull it up whenever I need a recommendation. It's best to do your research beforehand because it makes the trip less stressful, especially when traveling solo. It also helps to maximize time because you can see the locations of each place on your list.

 

6. Carefully plan flights!

When solo, it's extremely important to plan flights accordingly. I bought my plane ticket to London next summer for my backpacking trip (for less than $200, which I'll save for another blog.) As I looked at flights, I noticed a lot of them arrived late at night. The last thing you want is to arrive somewhere when it's dark, and you're unfamiliar with the area. Although the cheapest flights arrive late, I decided to pick one that flew overnight and arrives at 11am. This is much safer, and it will make me feel much more confident upon arrival. Honestly, the price difference wasn't much at all! It was only $30-$40 more to arrive at an earlier time.


 
7. Step into a shop!

Maybe you need a minute to check Google maps and figure out where the heck you’re headed to! No worries, this happens to everyone. Just don’t stop in the middle of the street, aimlessly look around, ect. If you’re frazzled, it will show. You don’t want to attract any more attention to yourself than necessary. Just dip into a store or cafe, find a place to sit, and check your phone calmly from there. Can't complain about an unplanned coffee stop!


 
Thanks for reading, and I hope these tips were helpful!

What are some of your helpful hacks for solo traveling?

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page