top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEllen Fox

What I Ate in Brooklyn, NY (Veg+Vegan Friendly)

Updated: Jul 29, 2020

It's no surprise that Brooklyn is my favorite city. It's a world of perfect chaos, and I'm mesmerized by the combination of art, brick, self expression, bodegas, and vibrant culture. There's people walking dogs, Spanish music blaring from nearby cars, and charming boutiques and cafes. You're a train ride away from a world of skyscrapers. But hundred floor buildings can’t compete with Brooklyn's personality. That's the draw of the city; it’s a place where everyone is authentically themselves.


After visiting my best friend in Brooklyn several times, I've come up with a list of my 5 favorite vegetarian-friendly restaurants. If New York doesn't have the food you're craving, it probably doesn't exist. I'm always on the hunt for delicious vegetarian food, and (as usual) Brooklyn exceeded all of my expectations.


 
1. Little Choc Apothecary

I'll start with my absolute favorite brunch spot in Brooklyn. It's vegan, gluten-free, and everything is made from scratch! They serve sweet (and savory) crepes, baked goods with homemade jam, smoothie bowls, and an excellent tofu scramble. Don't forget to try the cold brew! My mouth is watering just thinking about this place.



 
2. by CHLOE.

Anyone who appreciates a yummy veggie burger and dessert will fall in love with this place! This restaurant is completely vegan and extremely delicious. I'm always on the hunt for a great veggie burger, and this place really hit the spot. Brooklyn is paradise for plant eaters, but carnivores will enjoy this place too.



 
3. Smorgasburg!

This place is a foodie's dream come true. Every Saturday from 11AM-6PM, you can buy food from a plethora of vendors. Seriously, they have endless options. The most difficult part is deciding what to order. There's lots of vegetarian options, whether it's fresh juice, egg sandwiches, vegan dishes, or desserts. If that wasn't amazing enough, you can take your food to a grassy spot by the river and enjoy a view of the Manhattan skyline. I have nothing else to say because I'm speechless (and drooling.)



 
4. Black Brick Coffee

I found this place while thrift shopping in Williamsburg. I would recommend Williamsburg to anyone looking to explore Brooklyn. You could walk around for hours and discover amazing street art and cute cafes! Although it's a coffee shop, this spot has phenomenal vegetarian breakfast burritos! I really enjoyed the vintage vibe, with brick walls and dark wooden floors. There's also a back patio, which is the perfect journaling spot. Don't forget to grab a coffee while you're there! I wish I had known about this place earlier!


 
5. Champs Diner

This place is like a vegan Steak n Shake! It was impressive (and hard to believe) that everything was meat-free! The checkered floors and red stools complimented the diner vibe. This place was on my list because it's something you can only find in a large city. The breakfast here also looked incredible, so I'll definitely try it next time!


 
Thanks for reading!

Let me know if there's any other vegetarian places worth checking out in Brooklyn!



29 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page