top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEllen Fox

My Favorite Food in Kansas City, Missouri! (Veg+Vegan Friendly)

Updated: Aug 22, 2020

I've lost count of how many times I've been to Kansas City, but I haven't lost track of the amazing food I've had! This city has a plethora of restaurants and cafes, so I've put a list together of the most impressive places that you must try! Each place has awesome vegetarian options, and I'm excited (and hungry) to share eight great recommendations with you!


 
1. Messenger Coffee

Whenever I search ‘best KC coffee shops,’ this place always appears with high ratings. Messenger Coffee is completely unique and honestly incredible! It's enormous, with three floors and a rooftop deck. There's a massive bakery space on the first floor, where they make all the breads, pizzas, breakfasts, and delicious bakery items. The second floor is the Roastery, where they roast their own coffee beans. The overall vibe, aroma, coffee/pastry selection, and menu, make this place a must try! You won't find another place like this!



 
2. Blue Nile

Have you ever tried Ethiopian food? Not only is this place vegan/vegetarian friendly, but it's the best meal I've had in a long time! Located in the historic City Market, Blue Nile is absolutely unforgettable. Every bite is dreamy, and you can taste all the fresh spices and ingredients. They also have a patio, where you can sit outdoors with friends and watch the street car pass by. Make sure this place is at the top of your list!



This bread is called Injera, and it's used as a utensil in Ethiopia.
 
3. Bluebird Bistro

Anyone who knows me would agree that breakfast food is my favorite food. There's nothing better than a delicious brunch and a hot cup of coffee. Bluestem Bistro is my favorite brunch spot in Kansas City, and it hits the spot every. single. time. The brick walls and vintage feel make for a cozy space to enjoy a meal, and the staff is always super friendly. They also take pride in using seasonal and local ingredients, especially in their famous fancy cake pancakes (pictured below). Don’t forget to stop here next time you’re in KC!


 
4. Cafe Gratitude

Cafe Gratitude is fresh, nourishing, and extremely satisfying! Everything on the menu is vegan, and most of their menu items are gluten free. I’ve eaten here numerous times, and it only gets better with each visit. They have everything from wholesome dinner bowls, salads, burgers and lasagna, to mac n cheese. When you eat here, you just feel good! Their dishes are everything I wish I could whip up in my own kitchen. Don’t forget dessert!




 

5. Succotash

This place gives me ‘cute, vintage diner’ vibes. The bottomless coffee, blue bar stools, and art covered walls create a perfect brunch spot! Seriously, it’s so adorable! The menu has everything you could dream of for the ultimate breakfast. Pancakes, eggs, bacon, and everything in between! The best part of all? There’s lots of options for vegetarians, and the vegan pancakes are to die for! Check this place out, you won’t regret it!


Vegan pancakes!
 

6. Westside Local

This neighborhood restaurant is the perfect place for a dinner (or solo) date! The dimmed lighting and wooden floors create the perfect atmosphere for a super tasty meal. Although it’s not a vegetarian restaurant, the veggie burger is the best I’ve ever had. In fact, it’s so delicious that it’s one of the most popular menu items! The presentation of each plate is lovely, and the local vibe gives you a true Kansas City experience. I’ll definitely be back!


 
7. Mudpie

Mudpie isn’t your average coffee shop. It’s 100% vegan and cruelty free! They have an impressive selection of pastries and baked goods, and there’s also amazing sandwiches! The atmosphere is cozy, and there’s lots of room to sit and relax. The espresso chip muffin is my personal favorite. The atmosphere is great for getting some work done on your laptop. Don’t miss out on this place!


 
8. River Market Coffee

There’s endless food choices at City Market, but River Market Coffee easily made my ‘top 8’ list! Not only do they have freshly squeezed juices, but they also have amazing breakfast burritos and sandwiches! The tofu scramble burrito is my personal favorite, but there's several other kinds as well. I’d recommend grabbing a coffee, pastry, and burrito before walking around City Market on a Saturday morning. I can’t think of a better way to begin the weekend. This place is a KC gem!



Thanks for reading!

Let me know about your favorite KC restaurants in the comments below!








29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page